Book style: Suspense/thriller

Beer pairing: Kinkader Devil’s Gap (jalepeno ale)

This book is about Beck and his wife Elizabeth. The two knew each other throughout childhood and were eventually married. Soul mates, if you will. But unfortunately, all good things must come to an end, and Elizabeth, during the couple’s anniversary, is kidnapped right in front of Beck.

The story picks up eight years later. Beck is now a pediatrician and is trying to live life the best he can. He never remarried and is still in mourning over the loss of his wife. Right before another anniversary, he receives a strange email. He decides to open it, even though every other part of him except his sheer curiosity is telling him not to. Something in the message itself is familiar. When he opens it, it’s a video, and one that quickly throws his life into chaos.

This book quickly lands you into the world of conspiracies, cover ups, and mystery. Although sometimes the writing seemed a little amateurish, it still kept me going. The book was written in both third person and first person, separated by chapter. When it was written in first person, I felt like the author was trying too hard to make the protagonist feel like he was talking directly to you. It wasn’t working for me, and had me cringe a little.

I finished the book in about a week, even with a full work schedule and hosting my mom over the weekend. It was my first Harlan Coben book, and I’ll probably try another one out.

20170402_201414.jpg

For beers, I went with Kinkader Devil’s Gap. It’s a jalapeno ale, and one of the best I’ve had (and yeah, I’ve had more than just this one). It’s mysterious and spicy, just something you need to get through this quick, suspenseful read.

Overall rating: 8/10

 

Let me know what you think

