Let Me In (Let the Right One In): John Ajvide Lindqvist

If it wasn’t so G-D cold in Sweden, I might just want to live in the Nordic wonderland. Now, as far as Swedish authors go, I’ve only read this guy and Steig Larsson, but man, they’ve been great. I will definitely be reading more of this author’s work.

The Swedish version of the book is called Let the Right One In, and in the U.S., the book is called Let Me In, and yes, they made a movie out of it, but like most movies from books, about half the book is missing. There’s so much more to this book than what I remember in the movie. One factor that was different was that the movie made it clear that “Abby” in the movie, who is “Eli” in the book is a female. In the book, the gender isn’t always clear, which reveals an entire history of where this character came from. The book also goes deeper into the lives of  all the other characters, how they act, why they act how they do, but it still leaves mystery. I left me wanting more. I wanted to find out what happened next.

The book is a vampire-ish book but not at all in the sense you think. It’s not about attacking people, drinking blood, torture, lust, etc etc that most vampire-style books are. This one humanizes a child who has to make horrible decisions, and another child who often feels like a shadow on the wall, alone and not fitting in with the world. Together they find a bond that, although they may not completely understand, fills them with life that keeps them alive, in a sense.

weblmibloodyabbyscreen

The book drops you into the lives of several characters and you instantly feel their realness. They were instantly alive, and although they all had different, separate lives, they all were connected too. I highly recommend this book, and although the movie left out a lot, it makes me want to watch it again.

let-me-in-wallpaper-let-me-in-36880279-2560-1600

Overall review: 10/10

Let me know what you think

