Natchez Trace Parkway (a series of photos)

We finally took a legitimate vacation that didn’t involve going home for a wedding. And it was good. And it involved staying places that didn’t have any cell phone service. Which was also good. But, of course, life doesn’t stop for me, so now I have a little catching up to do. I was going to write about my trip through the Natchez Trace Parkway in one big long blog post, but if any of you are like me, ain’t nobody got time for that. I’m busy, you’re busy…and that’s not really what I want to do. I don’t think one blog post will do. There were so many things to see in the week we were on the road that I’d have to cut out so much to make it into one post.

If you’re not familiar with the Natchez Trace Parkway, like I wasn’t about a month ago, check this site out to start. The road is 444 miles and stretches from Natchez, MS to Nashville, TN. Along the way, there are a multitude of stops, clearly marked, with history and nature. Each stop tells you a little about the area, what went on here 200 years ago and how it evolved. Even if you’re not a history fan (my worst subject in school), you’ll enjoy this. It’s bits and pieces of information you’d never learn in a book, with all the fresh air, scenery, and walking paths you’ll ever need.

We rented a teardrop trailer and camped each night in a different state park. I highly recommend this if you want to take this trip nice and slowly. We are normally primitive campers, meaning, we pack a bag, hike into the woods and camp with what we have on our backs, but knowing this would be a week on the road with two dogs, we wanted to try something different. The trailer is small so almost any vehicle can haul it, is basically a queen bed with storage on the inside and as a kitchenette in the back with a battery-powered cooler that is programmable, so we would cool it down to near freezing overnight, unplug and go all day. By the time we stopped for the night, everything was still nice and cold. The dogs kept us warm on the cool nights, and we woke up each morning to the sun in our little windows.

I hope you like the photos I’ll be sharing. I took around 500, and so many didn’t capture the beauty that surrounded. I recommend this trip to anyone looking to explore this country and reinvigorate a love of it. There’s so much beauty in our own backyards and it can be easy to forget it when we commute everyday and see the same things day in and day out.

Our first night was at Atlanta State Park, in (crazy enough), Atlanta, TX, which is on the northeast side of the state, near Texarkana. We camped right by the water and got in a small hike before heading in for the night to start our vacation. Overall it was a great park, with good amenities and beautiful scenery.

More pictures and state park talk to come!

3 comments

Let me know what you think

