Do something today

We are usually pretty healthy people. We exercise, we eat good foods, we make most of our own meals from scratch, but we’re human. We like beer, we go out to eat, and I have a horrid sweet tooth. But the last few days have felt like I didn’t just slide off the wagon, I was pitched forward and landed face first. It feels like I’ve been eating and drinking horribly for weeks when it’s only been days, but my exercise routine has dwindled to maybe one workout a week. This can’t keep happening.

I know for some people, they work out when they need to lose weight, or only think about how they will look after a workout. For me, that’s a secondary effect. Working out on a regular basis makes me feel better overall; I become less lethargic and have more consistent energy. I’m in a better mood, and I don’t guilt myself into shame if I do go have a doughnut for breakfast. When I stop working out, I tend to eat worse for some reason ( I think I just give up), I stop being active at all, I’m tired, more likely to get cranky and just feel uncomfortable in my own skin and clothes.

I’ve seen too many people with diseases and health issues because they weren’t active and were bad to their bodies. I don’t want to regret my choices later in life and think, ” why didn’t I just workout every once in a while. What’s a few hours a week?” So we’re getting back on the fitness wagon today. I want to integrate fitness, whether it’s runs, walks, rock climbing, hiking, whatever, more into my daily ritual. I want it to become habit, not something I “have to do”. I know that I’ll probably fall off here and there, but I don’t want to beat myself up about it. That doesn’t help. It’s time to get up and get moving again.

do something

4 comments

    • That’s a great idea. I did go for a run last night, which I was proud of and may even hit the trail again tonight. Thanks for the tip. I think I’ll start planning out that list.

  1. What a great post. I can really relate to it. Being certified in fitness and nutrition, exercise is a must. Not just to lose weight, but also for overall well-being. When I don’t get it in, I feel it in a holistic way even, just like you mentioned. I’ve heard it said that exercise is considered a healthy addiction. I’d say that’s a great addiction to have.
    🙂

Let me know what you think

