Improvements here and there

I’m STILL working on the house painting. We have a tiny, but difficult section left to go on the main body (plus touch-ups) and I’ve started on trim, but we have a road trip coming up soon so the finishing up of the house will be delayed, but it’s inevitable and I’m okay with it. It will get done, just later than sooner. In between painting, we’re also working on cleaning and organizing the garage. We have a new roommate, so it’s the perfect time to declutter and make some room for his stuff. Unfortunately I don’t think I have any before pics of the shelving unit that was here before. It was some 2×4’s haphazardly thrown up with some screws and two plywood shelves, but not anchored to the wall, so it wiggled dangerously every time you took anything off the thing. It was inefficient and downright nerve-wracking, so we tore it down and will be keeping the plywood and 2×4’s to make a workbench later (you can kind of see the plywood shelves in the picture). For now, we started with one of these handy shelves to see how much stuff we could fit on it. We’ll be going back for one more, but it’s coming along well. We got almost everything that was on that entire wall unit (it went from the left wall to the fridge), into one small shelf. Plus, adding the clear containers helps to preserve all of our gear but still makes it easy to find.

IMG_4943

I wanted to get trim done in the front of the house, since that’s what’s seen the most, and will slowly but surly complete the rest of the trim. I was a little worried about the yellow tint in the trim paint, but I think it’s going to look nice against the limestone wall and the golden door.

IMG_4944

Our potential door color below. Please ignore my painted fingers. I’m no clean painter.

IMG_4947 IMG_4948

3 comments

  1. I did painting for my eagle scout project and we had to use a oil based primer that would only come out when we doused our hands in gasoline. I’m so bad at painting that I usually have paint on clothes I didn’t even wear to paint. I think not being able to paint very well gets me out of painting for other people.

Let me know what you think

