And I’m still not done with the house. I feel like I’ve been lazy at finishing this project, and I hate when I was doing so well, going so fast, and then a couple of things derail me and now I’m feeling like my house will always have spots of blue on it. I know this isn’t true but it starts to feel that way and I start to get antsy. A few things have come up (was out of town for four days, friend moved into our house, found out I have way more training to do than I thought I did, so I’ve been trying to wrap my head around that), yada yada. Hopefully this weekend shouldn’t stop me from finishing the house. I have only a small portion left on the south/southwest side (it’s just been hard to get to because it gets sun when I’m home) and a small portion on the north side (Hubs is going to have to climb onto the roof to paint the chimney but 1-he hates heights and 2-he hates painting – so I’m going to buy him lots of beer for afterwards). Once those two sections are done (it’s probably only about 200sq feet total left to do), then I’ll be moving onto trim.

I at least did find a trim color…I think. The two that I’m looking at are practically the same so I’ll tell you the one that I’m leaning towards, and that I can remember the name of. It’s called Stonewashed by Behr. It’s a good neutral white without being too…WHITE! When the house was blue, the trim was blue as well and the house kind of got lost in itself. Trimming out the windows gives it a little more distinction, especially since we have a handful of half-moon shaped windows that add a little uniqueness to the architecture of the house.

stonewashedWe are both getting the itch to get out and travel, but I feel like the right thing to do is just finish this ASAP so we can get it done. I hate having projects open and waiting to be finished for too long.

Earlier I stated that we have a new roommate. Unfortunately, his rent skyrocketed so he’ll be staying with us until he can figure out what his next housing venture should be. Here in Austin, if you can scrape up the cash, and you plan on sticking around, it’s better to buy right now. We pay slightly less than we did renting. And we own the home. Of course, it comes with the cost of renovation, but that’s our choice. Either way, he’ll be at the house, which means we have some rearranging to do as far as storage goes. I love our little house, but it seriously lacks in storage (not even a single linen closet), so we’ll be getting creative in the garage and attic and office closet this weekend when we’re not painting.

Not trying to get too philosophical here, but I think a key to true happiness is to stay flexible and open to things. Situations change and flex and the best way to not get upset is to expect the change. Expect things to be different than how you see it happening in your head. Even if a situation isn’t how I expected it to be, I find myself enjoying where I am if I just embrace whatever comes at me. Even if it’s things like rearranging a closet. If I go into it with a great attitude (this will give us so much more space!) instead of dreading it (I hate organizing!), then the project immediately starts off on a better foot.

So embrace whatever comes at you, enjoy the ride, and remember, nothing lasts forever, nothing stays the same, so embrace the And…

&

Let me know what you think

