For my US WP friends, I hope everyone had a fabulous 4th and got to see some fireworks.We went out to a friend’s house in the country. They’d bought a wide assortment and set them off throughout the evening. There were snacks, beers, and a lot of people I’d never met before. It was great, but the weekend was exhausting.

You’d think the long 4th of July weekend would be prime time for painting, but it wasn’t. Between having friends over, an emergency dental visit, and going out to a friend’s house, there wasn’t a whole lot of time in between. And honestly, I’ve lost count of how many hours of painting I’ve put in (something in the 30′-hour range most likely), so I’m not always motivated to paint if I only have a couple hours of free time since it takes 15-20 minutes for setup and cleanup each time.

I did get the garage done though, which was great. It was currently a faded baby blue beacon in contrast with the front entry that I had completed previously. I was initially nervous about painting the garage door because all the info I’d read on painting a garage was geared toward spraying it and I only had a brush and a roller. I did find one tutorial that advised to paint the crevices with a brush, then coming back with a roller which is what I ended up doing. I made sure to put two coats on the crevices, then rolled the whole thing twice. It took only a couple of hours and I was very pleased with the results.

I’d been playing around with either painting the door the body color or the trim color and ended up painting it the body color because there wasn’t a lot of the body color in the front of the house since we have a lot of stone. I wanted to accentuate and showcase the body color and I’m glad I did. The stone pops a lot more with the contrasting rich brown/gray of the Mined Charcoal and I really like it.

I just have a small portion of both the south and north side, then I’m done with the body. The hubs has graciously said he would be the second coat guy. I am planning on having him go back and finding all the mottled areas, or spots I missed, instead of doing a full on second coat everywhere. While he’s working on that, I’ll be working on trim. I plan on heading to Home Depot today to pick out a few color swatches. Hopefully making a trim choice won’t be nearly as difficult as the body choice. IMG_4898 FullSizeRenderIMG_4900 IMG_4907

Let me know what you think

