Planters on the road, spiders in my garage

You never truly know how your day is going to turn out, even if the majority of it is like any other. I went to work just like I do every day. I went for a walk before lunch, like I do almost every day. But today was slightly different, and maybe a precursor to the rest of the day. As I walked by one of the homes, I came across a big wooden box. It was tilted, half of it on the road and half on the boulevard, with it’s castors left in the box, one broken. It was lying in a gesture that said, “Free to anyone that wants it”, and it felt like it was speaking directly to me. It wanted a new home. I was pretty excited. My next outdoor project includes creating some raised bed gardens for veggies and herbs. I walked back to the office at a quicker pace than I normally would, and asked a co-worker if he would help me load it into my car. He said he would so we drove over to the house and grabbed it. I felt that someone would snatch it up soon if I didn’t so I had to act quickly. The rest of the day was the same as usual, but I was in a pretty good mood, just for the fact I had a new planter in my car. I ran some errands after work and headed home to work on some more painting before I lost any day light. The forecast for rain had actually decreased so I wanted to get out and work on the entry some more.

IMG_4876

IMG_4879

Today though, was going to be a bit different…again. I went out to the garage to get my supplies when I saw something I didn’t recognize. I crouched a little closer and then backed up immediately once I realized what it was. I had a tarantula in my garage. I knew they lived here in Texas but had never seen one in person. At first it was scrunched up tight, looking almost like a big, wilted leaf. I took the broom and swept some dog hair out of the way (don’t judge) and he all of a sudden came to life and expanded himself (or herself, I didn’t bother to ask). Please don’t judge the fur. My garage isn’t that terrible but he happened to be in the corner where the dog and cat fur congregates.IMG_4859 IMG_4862 IMG_4866And in case you’re all curious (and if I have any members of PETA on my site), the bugger was not harmed. I got him swept into a bucket and the hubs brought him across the street to a boulevard. I even let a mom and her son know about it when they were taking a walk, and they brought dad back to look at it and take pictures, so it turned into an entertaining, learning experience for the evening for a number of us. 

You just never know how your day will turn out. I definitely did not plan for a tarantula in the garage.

2 comments

  1. You’re a truly brave lady, I would have screamed, locked the garage, run like the wind and then probably cried before vowing never to enter the garage ever again!! So massive congratulations for keeping your cool 🙂

    • Haha, I can handle these guys better than I can handle cockroaches. Even dead cockroaches give me more of the willies than tarantulas. No idea why. It was quite fascinating. I watched it for a while until it started walking toward my door, then I yelled, “You shall not pass!” Ha

Let me know what you think

