Rainy day = warm smells

We got a lot of rain over Memorial Weekend here in Austin, as you may have seen on the news. In my area, we received 6″ alone on Memorial Day, and a total of around 13″ for the weekend. Shoal Creek flooded near downtown, leaving businesses and streets wet and stranded.

The rain came down in thick sheets, pounding down on my flower bed, drowning my lily and sending the mulch over the bed and into the grass. I could hear it pounding on my fireplace chimney and windows, and the lightning and thunder was bright, loud, and frequent. Luckily, our power never fully went out, we only saw some flashes, which was good because I decided to make chai banana bread on the dreary Memorial Day.

I found the receipe for Chai Banana Bread, here, on MyRecipes.com. All of my bananas had ripened at an incredible rate, probably because of the humidity, so I had to do something about it. Yummy spicy banana bread sounded like the answer to me. I was able to use three of the bananas, and make my house smell wonderful, with the mix of bread, bananas and chai spices.

Chai banana bread

The bread turned out great (I baked it for maybe three or four minutes longer than suggested – I usually go by the toothpick test more than time) and the glaze that went on top was perfect. It was a powdered sugar glaze with spices like cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and allspice added to give it that extra flavor. Yum! Make yourself a cup of coffee or tea, grab a book and a blanket, and settle in with a warm slice of this bread.

Let me know what you think

