Sorry folks, I’ve been away for quite a while. Longer than usual. I was doing some training in San Antonio and had no decent internet for four days. No internet and boring TV meant that I did get a lot of reading done so that’s always a positive. I finished Robert Louis Stevenson’s Treasure Island and started C.S. Lewis’s Screwtape Letters.

Treasure Island was a great adventure book, quite different than some of the movie remakes (especially my favorite Muppets Treasure Island), mostly because young Jim Hawkins kills people in the book. I don’t think that would translate into a kid’s G/PG movie. But I digress. It was a good book overall but it could be a little confusing at times. The book was published in 1883 by a Scottish man, who enjoyed adding pirate and sailing/boat lingo so I admit I was lost a few times. But overall I enjoyed the classic.

C.S. Lewis’s Screwtape letters is definitely quite different from Treasure Island. It’s about Screwtape, an “old” experienced demon, trying to give advice via correspondence to his young and growing nephew demon, Wormwood, who is trying to ruin a young man on earth. So far it’s been entertaining and enlightening.

I’ve also been trying to get the office finished up. I finished putting a polyurethane coat on the refinished desk and painted the walls white, keeping a gray accent wall. I’ll post pics once it’s complete.

In the mean time, here are some words to help you on this Monday. I know I need it…

joyful

Let me know what you think

