The challenge of stillness

I don’t know about you but doing nothing does not come naturally to me. And when I mean doing nothing, I don’t mean scanning the ipad or phone, or watching TV. I mean really doing nothing. How long do you think you can just sit before you start to feel antsy. Our culture has raised us to be productive people at all times. And although I say that our culture has produced us to be constantly moving and doing, this isn’t a new concept. And that’s not necessarily a bad thing, but I think you can miss out on a lot when you are constantly trying to stay in tuned with everything.

I’ve been thinking about this since Sunday when it was a subject in church. Our pastor talked about his prayer closet, which is literally a closet he has set a spot up in to sit and pray. It’s quiet and dark and is without stimulation, barring some shirts and dirty laundry. It’s a great way to dedicate a space and a time to get away from everything and have a one-on-one conversation with God. I know that when I try to concentrate and pray, I get distracted so easily. My mind is constantly trying to think of things I need to get done. Or if I’m driving and I try to pray, I see something that reminds me to do something later, or I think about that driver, and why he/she didn’t use their blinkers (a very common practice here in Austin).

So this week I’m going to concentrate on dedicated, intentional time with God. Not just throwing up a quick prayer when I’m in between work, but stopping, closing my door and shutting everything off so all of my attention can be on what I’m saying and what I’m hearing.

“Be still & know that I am God” (Psalm 46:10).

Be truly still, and see what happens.

Let me know what you think

