Before I left for my guard drill this weekend, we did a final, all out, do what we can, overhaul on the kitchen. And by we, I mean mostly the husband. “We” ripped out all remaining cabinets besides where the sink and plumbing is, and Dylan also ripped out the pantry. ImageImageImage

We all did this knowing that on Saturday, the electrician/plumber guy would be out to disconnect everything so that on Monday, construction could start.

Let me note though, that it was only slated to start on Monday because I made a fuss. AGAIN, this company tried to delay us a week. I told them that was unacceptable. I’d already been delayed due to their contractor’s inability to communicate. Our “coordinator” talked to her manager. Miraculously, she scheduled a guy to come out Saturday and for the whole deal to start this Monday, i.e., tomorrow. 

Saturday came and went and our electrician/plumber guy never showed up. Apparently he called me before he was even scheduled to come that morning to tell me he wanted to reschedule. Here’s the thing: I can’t get to my phone during the day at drill because where I work, I cannot bring in cell phones. I got the message in the afternoon and left him a message. He never called the hubs even though he should have had that number as an alternative, and unless it was an emergency, why reschedule when it would have been about 10 minutes worth of work? It was literally supposed to be him coming to disconnect and make sure everything was off so demo could start Monday. 

I’m really hoping someone shows up on Monday, at 8am like they are scheduled to, and that they can turn off and disconnect all necessary outlets, lines, etc. I’m going to have a hard time staying calm if they tell me they cannot work since no one came on Saturday. Hell, I’ll figure out how to turn everything off and disconnect all that needs to be disconnected if that will start this dang process. This girl can live off microwave dinners and sandwiches only for so long!

Either way, I’ll be speaking with Home Depot and the construction company on Monday because a no-show is a no-show, whether we can go on or not. I think this company has gotten away with enough already, and I’m guessing, based on reviews from other people (mostly all bad), that most people haven’t complained outright, just online. Stand up and complain people! Not just online, but in person. 

The day and age we live in these days has us cowering behind a computer complaining, but never addressing it with the actual vendor. Maybe that’s why vendors feel they can get away with a lot more these days? I feel sometimes like the customer has been forgotten and the ever mighty dollar is the only thing remembered. Without a happy customer however, you will never see as many dollars. Never. 

Wish me luck and I will wish myself the same luck, cross my fingers and toes, and hope someone shows up tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Kitchen renovation – old out, new coming in…..hopefully

  1. Whoa, sounds like your contractor has frustrated you. Our kitchen has been out since Thanksgiving and I’m trying to keep a relaxed mental attitude especially when my husband is overwhelmed with the chaos. Keeping my fingers crossed that your crew shows up tomorrow. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

    1. Oh wow! Thanksgiving. You’ve been out much longer than us. We bought the place Dec 2 and basically went to work planning renovations. We loved everything about the house except the kitchen.
      Good luck on the rest of your kitchen!

Let me know what you think

