Renovations, reflections, renewal

I’m sure it’s not a surprise to anyone that it’s New Year’s Eve today and there will be gobs of people on WordPress reflecting on their successes and failures of 2013. I unfortunately, will be one of them as well. But I don’t want to solely focus on what went wrong and what went right, so much as what I’ve learned over the year.

I do want to reflect shortly on the upcomings and shortfalls of the year, as it was quite the active year. Right at the end of 2012 and beginning of 2013, we had some unforeseen and unfortunate incidents. Dylan was injured in the police academy and had to resign. He had been doing so well and was slated to graduate at the top of his class. It really took a toll on him having to revert back and start again. Fortunately because he had made such an impact within the police community already, he was hired on to work in the forensics department, so we are very fortunate and grateful for that. I was accepted into the Cyberspace world for the Air National Guard and will be going to tech school in early 2014. This part time gig in the guard could have positive affects in the civilian world since I will be obtaining certificates utilized in the civilian IT world as well. I feel like with this job, the opportunities will open in the next year or so. And just recently, we bought a house and have started with the renovations to make it the house of our dreams.

All in all it’s been a roller coaster of a year. Some good, some not so good, but all with lessons to be learned. I’ve learned that even if you think you know God’s plans, you don’t. We came to Austin thinking we knew what we were doing and how the next couple of years would go, but they certainly didn’t go as planned at all. I’ve also learned that the career path you never thought you’d go down, is probably the one you’ll end up in. I never ever thought I would start working in the IT field. I’ve never really taken any class in it, and know very little about computers. But here I am. I’m studying for my Network+ certification and will eventually be studying for other certifications as well. The more open you are to different paths in life, the more apt you’ll end up down the one you are meant to go down. Sometimes I think we miss opportunities because we assume we would never enjoy it. You just really never know until you take the step toward that mystery.

I’ve also learned that friends and family and free time are the most important things, over money or materials or anything else. I took on a second job in July, hoping to raise more money for a house we were looking at buying. It was a brand new not-yet-built-home, that was going to be beautiful but would stretch us quite thin in the money department. We wanted that house in so many ways, but I think in the back of our minds we were both hesitant. We didn’t want to stretch ourselves so thin that we couldn’t do anything else, but sit in the house. A few months into working at my second job, I realized the impact it was having on myself and my husband. We hardly saw each other, almost never made meals together anymore, and neither of us seemed any happier with a couple extra bucks in our bank. I was having a hard time getting my studying in, and was left with no free time to go out, take walks, or do anything I actually wanted to do. I didn’t want to have to do this just to afford a home. I didn’t need to do this. So I quit, and we looked at homes that were much lower priced, and that would afford us the ability to still go out with friends, entertain people, and go home when we had the vacation built. We now have much more time to hang out together, love the house we have now, and are actually enjoying working on renovating it. We’re going about it thoughtfully to make sure we both love it and it’s been a lot of fun.

We are still relatively new to Austin and know that it takes on average four years to create strong friendships. We are working on building and establishing those great lasting relationships with people here in the area. This is what I’ve learned is really important and it’s lessons like these I can take with me into the new year.

Have a wonderful last day of 2013 everyone and I hope you can take lessons you’ve learned and apply them to better yourself and the people around you in 2014.

Image

2 comments

  1. “I’ve learned that even if you think you know God’s plans, you don’t.”

    I just recently learned that exact lesson. It’s so true!

Let me know what you think

