I’m no longer a cleanse virgin!

So I decided to try a cleanse diet – something not too difficult, for the first time. I decided to try the Sambazon 3-day cleanse. You can buy the three pack from Costco and it comes with it’s own nifty guide with it. I thought it couldn’t be too hard considering it was only three days right?? Kind of wrong. Turns out I’m a wuss when it comes to staying off foods/drink that I love.

To start off, you kind of start the cleanse a few days in advance. You’re supposed to get off caffeine, meat and processed foods a couple of days before you start. Okay. I did pretty decent with this. Started to get the caffeine withdrawal headache around Day -1 so that wasn’t a good sign but I went forth.

Day 1 wasn’t terrible. Your entire diet consisted of three different drinks throughout the day (included) and meal plans (included in pamphlet). I just had to get used to it. Day 1 was quinoa which I’d had before. No biggie. I think my lunch was supposed to be some potato dish. I was too lazy to make it but had had some leftover vegetarian Indian dish so I ate that. Dinner was an open faced veggie burger and spinach salad.

Day 2 followed similar but I was supposed to eat a beet and blood orange salad. I’ve tried beets…I can’t stand them. I don’t like fruit in my salads. This wasn’t going to happen. So I kind of cheated and had udon noodles (still vegan but carb filled instead of greeny). I made the dinner meal which was a spinach cauliflower tomato curry dish. It was surprisingly good.

Day 3 I pretty much stuck to so that was good. I had to make overnight oats for breakfast, which I remembered to make the day before so that was good. I think lunch was some risotto and dinner was a butternut squash apple soup which was again, surprisingly good.

I stuck to staying vegan, eating clean, and drank all my juices so overall it was semi-successful. I don’t really feel any different but I’ve tried to stick to eating smaller meals and am still off the caffeine, although I definitely don’t think caffeine is a completely bad thing. I love my coffee, especially on the weekends and it contains anti-oxidants. I just kind of want to see where this no-caffeine thing gets me after a week. Kind of a personal experiment.

sambazon

 

Overall, I’d say to give it a try. It makes you think about what you put in your body everyday, and feeling some of the effects of drinking these juices does remind you that what you put in your body truly does make a difference.

Let me know what you think

